Young Adult books on father-daughter relationships

Fathers and daughters are a special bond. These books shed light and sparkle on that relationship.
daughter young-adult fatherhood relationships
The Amity Affliction - Pittsburg
The Amity Affliction - Shine on
See your ratings

The Moon and More

by Sarah Dessen

About the book:  The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen is the perfect romantic YA novel. A gorgeous Summer read. Open the pages and fall in love . . . Emaline is spending her last summer before college in her home beach town of Colby. Everything is familiar - from working for her bossy sister Margo at the family rental company to Emaline's gorgeous (and regularly shirtless) childhood sweetheart, Luke. But when an out-of-town brash New York filmmaker, and her young assistant Theo, come to stay at one of the beach houses, everything Emaline thought she knew about herself changes. But can her heart let go of a life she's loved for so long? Praise for Sarah Dessen: 'Perfect' - Sunday Telegraph 'Unputdownable' - MIZZ 'A compelling story and beautifully written' - Time Out 'A poignant coming-of-age story' - The Big Issue Sarah Dessen is the author of seven stunning YA novels: Just Listen, The Truth About Forever, Lock and Key, That Summer, Along for the Ride and The Moon and More. She is a New York Times bestseller and is sold in over 27 different countries around the world. She lives in the countryside in North Carolina, USA, with her daughter, husband, some lizards and two very spoilt dogs - read her once and fall in love. Sarah-Land.com sarahdessen.com @sarahdessen

Buy on Amazon Add to your reading list
Available on: Asset 1 Asset 1 Asset 1
The Amity Affliction - Pittsburg
The Amity Affliction - Shine on
See your ratings

Black Helicopters

by Blythe Woolston

About the book:  Surviving in an underground den for more than a decade after her people are attacked by the forces of a hostile government, 15-year-old Valkyrie and her older brother emerge in a near-future Montana after the disappearance of their father and struggle to acclimate to a world filled with fear and violence. By the award-winning author of The Freak Observer.

Buy on Amazon Add to your reading list
Available on: Asset 1 Asset 1 Asset 1
The Amity Affliction - Pittsburg
The Amity Affliction - Shine on
See your ratings

A Midsummer's Nightmare

by Kody Keplinger

About the book:  Whitley Johnson's dream summer with her divorce dad has turned into a nightmare. She's just met his new fiancee and her kids. The fiancee's son? Whitley's one-night stand from graduation night. Just freakin' great. Worse, she totally doesn't fit in with her dad's perfect new country-club family. So Whitley acts out. She parties. Hard. So hard she doesn't even notice the good things right under her nose: a sweet little future stepsister who is just about the only person she's ever liked, a best friend (even though Whitley swears she doesn't "do" friends), and a smoking-hot guy who isn't her stepbrother...at least, not yet. It will take all three of them to help Whitley get through her anger and begin to put the pieces of her family together. Filled with authenticity and raw emotion, Whitley is Kody Keplinger's most compelling character to date: a cynical Holden Caulfield-esque girl you will wholly care about.

Buy on Amazon Add to your reading list
Available on: Asset 1 Asset 1 Asset 1
The Amity Affliction - Pittsburg
The Amity Affliction - Shine on
See your ratings

Happy Families

by Tanita S. Davis

About the book:  In alternating chapters, sixteen-year-old twins Ysabel and Justin share their conflicted feelings as they struggle to come to terms with their father's decision to dress as a woman.

Buy on Amazon Add to your reading list
Available on: Asset 1 Asset 1 Asset 1
The Amity Affliction - Pittsburg
The Amity Affliction - Shine on
See your ratings

Scowler

by Daniel Kraus

About the book:  In the midst of a meteor shower in Iowa, a maniac escapes from prison and returns to the farm where his son, Ry, must summon three childhood toys--Mr. Furrington, Jesus Christ, and Scowler--to protect himself and his family.

Buy on Amazon Add to your reading list
Available on: Asset 1 Asset 1 Asset 1
The Amity Affliction - Pittsburg
The Amity Affliction - Shine on
See your ratings

This Is Not a Test

by Courtney Summers

About the book:  It's the end of the world. Six students have taken cover in Cortege High but shelter is little comfort when the dead outside won't stop pounding on the doors. One bite is all it takes to kill a person and bring them back as a monstrous version of their former self. To Sloane Price, that doesn't sound so bad. Six months ago, her world collapsed and since then, she's failed to find a reason to keep going. Now seems like the perfect time to give up. As Sloane eagerly waits for the barricades to fall, she's forced to witness the apocalypse through the eyes of five people who actually want to live. But as the days crawl by, the motivations for survival change in startling ways and soon the group's fate is determined less and less by what's happening outside and more and more by the unpredictable and violent bids for life—and death—inside. When everything is gone, what do you hold on to?

Buy on Amazon Add to your reading list
Available on: Asset 1 Asset 1 Asset 1
The Amity Affliction - Pittsburg
The Amity Affliction - Shine on
See your ratings

First Day on Earth

by Cecil Castellucci

About the book:  A startling, wonderful novel about the true meaning of being an alien in an equally alien world. "We are specks. Pieces of dust in this universe. Big nothings. "I know what I am." Mal lives on the fringes of high school. Angry. Misunderstood. Yet loving the world -- or, at least, an idea of the world. Then he meets Hooper. Who says he's from another planet. And may be going home very soon.

Buy on Amazon Add to your reading list
Available on: Asset 1 Asset 1 Asset 1
The Amity Affliction - Pittsburg
The Amity Affliction - Shine on
See your ratings

Through to You

by Lauren Barnholdt

About the book:  Camden Pike has been grief-stricken since his girlfriend, Viv, died. Viv was the last good thing in his life: helping him rebuild his identity after a career-ending football injury, picking up the pieces when his home life shattered, and healing his pain long after the meds wore off. And now, he'd give anything for one more glimpse of her. But when Cam makes a visit to the site of Viv's deadly car accident, he sees some kind of apparition. And it isn't Viv. The apparition's name is Nina, and she's not a ghost. She's a girl from a parallel world, and in this world, Viv is still alive. Cam can't believe his wildest dreams have come true. All he can focus on is getting his girlfriend back, no matter the cost. But things are different in this other world: Viv and Cam have both made very different choices, things between them have changed in unexpected ways, and Viv isn't the same girl he remembers. Nina is keeping some dangerous secrets, too, and the window between the worlds is shrinking every day. As Cam comes to terms with who this Viv has become and the part Nina played in his parallel story, he's forced to choose - stay with Viv or let her go - before the window closes between them once and for all.

Buy on Amazon Add to your reading list
Available on: Asset 1 Asset 1 Asset 1
The Amity Affliction - Pittsburg
The Amity Affliction - Shine on
See your ratings

This Is Not a Drill

by Beck McDowell

About the book:  Two teens try to save a class of first-graders from a gun-wielding soldier suffering from PTSD When high school seniors Emery and Jake are taken hostage in the classroom where they tutor, they must work together to calm both the terrified children and the gunman threatening them--a task made even more difficult by their recent break-up. Brian Stutts, a soldier suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder after serving in Iraq, uses deadly force when he's denied access to his son because of a custody battle. The children's fate is in the hands of the two teens, each recovering from great loss, who now must reestablish trust in a relationship damaged by betrayal. Told through Emery and Jake's alternating viewpoints, this gripping novel features characters teens will identify with and explores the often-hidden damages of war.

Buy on Amazon Add to your reading list
Available on: Asset 1 Asset 1 Asset 1
The Amity Affliction - Pittsburg
The Amity Affliction - Shine on
See your ratings

Charm and Strange

by Stephanie Kuehn

About the book:  A deftly woven and unnerving psychological thriller from debut author Stephanie Kuehn. ‘Don’t. Please don’t say my name. You have no idea who I really am.’ No one really knows who Andrew Winston Winters is. Least of all himself. He is part Win, a lonely teenager exiled to a remote boarding school in the wake of a family tragedy. The guy who shuts the whole world out, no matter the cost, because his darkest fear is of himself . . . of the wolfish predator within. But he’s also part Drew, the angry boy with violent impulses that control him. The boy who, one fateful summer, was part of something so terrible it came close to destroying him. Fans of Meg Rosoff, Kevin Brooks or Lionel Shriver’s We Need to Talk About Kevin will be gripped by this story, but it is unlike anything you have ever read before. The pace, tension and raw emotion within this books for teens is almost palpable. Charm and Strange is a book that will stay with you long after you have turned the final page.

Buy on Amazon Add to your reading list
Available on: Asset 1 Asset 1 Asset 1