Scary stuff

Duffy's favourite suspense and thrillers
The Amity Affliction - Pittsburg
The Amity Affliction - Shine on
See your ratings

Find Me

by J.S. Monroe

About the book:  A sighting of a woman who supposedly died years ago sparks a desperate search for the truth in this breakout suspense thriller, perfect for readers of The Good Girl and The Widow. Sometimes we choose to see only what we want. Sometimes what we see changes the way we look at everything… Jarlath "Jar" Costello's girlfriend, Rosa, committed suicide when they were both students at Cambridge, and Jar has thought about her every day since. It's been five years, yet Jar is still obsessed with the idea that Rosa, the one true love of his life, is alive. He's tormented by disturbingly real sightings of her—experiences the psychologist treating him describes as "post-bereavement hallucinations." When Rosa's aunt uncovers an encrypted file on her laptop that she believes is Rosa's diary, she gives Jar the hard drive, sending him on a frantic quest to unlock the mysterious document and finally make sense of the suspicious circumstances surrounding Rosa's suicide. But the deeper he digs, the more confused he becomes as he is pressed into a dark underworld where nothing is as it seems and no one can be trusted. When a startling discovery convinces him more than ever that these are not just hallucinations—that Rosa really is alive—Jar is thrust into the heart of a larger intrigue that may finally shed some light on Rosa's death…even as it dangerously threatens his own life.

Buy on Amazon Add to your reading list
Available on: Asset 1 Asset 1 Asset 1
The Amity Affliction - Pittsburg
The Amity Affliction - Shine on
See your ratings

The Last Days of Jack Sparks

by Jason Arnopp

About the book:  *FEATURED ON SIMON MAYO'S RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB* THE MOST CHILLING AND UNPREDICTABLE THRILLER OF THE YEAR Jack Sparks died while writing this book. It was no secret that journalist Jack Sparks had been researching the occult for his new book. No stranger to controversy, he'd already triggered a furious Twitter storm by mocking an exorcism he witnessed. Then there was that video: forty seconds of chilling footage that Jack repeatedly claimed was not of his making, yet was posted from his own YouTube account. Nobody knew what happened to Jack in the days that followed - until now. 'Ingenious and funny . . . A magnificent millennial nightmare' - Alan Moore 'Wow. Seriously hard to put down . . . Chilling and utterly immersive' - M. R. Carey 'This is The Omen for the social media age' - Chris Brookmyre 'Wittier than the lovechild of Stephen Fry and Charlie Brooker, scarier than watching The Exorcist in an abandoned asylum' - Sarah Lotz DISCOVER THE LAST DAYS OF JACK SPARKS - DESTINED TO BE 2016'S MOST TALKED-ABOUT THRILLER

Buy on Amazon Add to your reading list
Available on: Asset 1 Asset 1 Asset 1
The Amity Affliction - Pittsburg
The Amity Affliction - Shine on
See your ratings

You

by Caroline Kepnes

About the book:  Gone Girl meets Fatal Attraction in Caroline Kepnes' You, a chilling account of the twisted psychology behind unrelenting passion. When aspiring writer Guinevere Beck strides into the bookstore where Joe works he is instantly smitten. Beck is everything Joe has ever wanted: tough, razor-smart and sexier than his wildest dreams. He'd kill to have her. Soon Beck can't resist her feelings for a guy who seems custom made for her. When a string of macabre incidents tears her world apart there is only one person she can turn to. But there's more to Joe than Beck realises and much more to Beck than her perfect facade. The obsessive relationship quickly spirals into a whirlwind of deadly consequences... A chilling account of unrelenting, terrifying deceit, Caroline Kepnes' You is a thriller more perversely clever and dangerously twisted than any YOU have ever read.


Notes:  My favourite thriller of all time. Handsome Joe is a mash up of Hannibal Lecter and Patrick Bateman. Confusing feelings when you like a psycho!

Buy on Amazon Add to your reading list
Available on: Asset 1 Asset 1 Asset 1